32 C
Wednesday, July 17, 2024

Government Appoints Special Task Force to Combat National Level Crises

This Week

The Lao Government has upheld its commitment to improving its disaster management system nationwide by establishing a special committee tasked with overseeing the management of national level crises.

Following the failure of a saddle dam at Xe Pian Xe Namnoy hydropower reservoir in the southern province of Attapeu, Prime Minister Thongloun announced in an official decision yesterday the officials that comprise the special committee.

The special committee is tasked with being the coordinating body between all relevant parties at all levels. It is to perform analyses of the damages done by the disaster and employ solutions to mitigate its effects. The committee is to investigate upon the causes of the disaster and take the necessary precautions to prevent it in the future. It is also its responsibility to spread public awareness of the disaster and provide the public with up to date news and developments.

The leadership of the committee responsible for oversight includes:

  1. Chairman: Sonxay Siphandone, Deputy Prime Minister
  2. Vice Chairman: Lieutenant General Souvone Leuangbounmee, Vice Minister of National Defense 
  3. Member: Brigadier General Sinthavong Sayakone, Vice Minister of Public Security
  4. Member: Dr Khamkeo Sanebounkounxay, Vice Minister of Labor and Social Welfare
  5. Member: Phouthone Meuangpak, Vice Minister of Health
  6. Member: Khamphao Ernthavan, Vice Minister of Foreign Affairs
  7. Member: Thongphat Vongmany, Vice Minister of Agriculture and Forestry
  8. Member: Chansone Senebouthalat, Vice Minister of Energy and Mines
  9. Member: Savankhone Razmountry, Vice Minister of Information, Culture and Tourism
  10. Member: Bounmy Phouthavong, Vice Minister of Natural Resources and Environment
  11. Member: Vilaykham Phosalat, Vice Minister of Public Works and Transportation
  12. Member: Atsaphangthong Siphandone, Vice Minister of Finance
  13. Member: Dr Khamphai Sisavan, Vice Minister of Education and Sports
  14. Member: Vice Governors of the affected Province

Members of the coordinating division are as follows:

  1. Somsanith Souvannalath, Vice Minister, Prime Minister’s Office
  2. Sathit Phetsingleuang, Acting Director of the Secretariat, Prime Minister’s Office
  3. Linkham Douangsavanh, Director of Research
  4. Somkiat Phasy, Director of Communications
  5. Sengthong Manichanh, Director of Administration, Protocol and Finance
  6. Director of Social Charity, Ministry of Labor and Social Welfare
  7. Director of the Press, Ministry of Foreign Affairs
  8. Director of Mass Media, Ministry of Information, Culture and Tourism
  9. Director of Planning, Ministry of Planning and Investment
  10. Director of Hydrology and Meteorology, Ministry of Natural Resources and Environment

Latest article