26 C
Tuesday, June 25, 2024

Who’s Who in the Lao Government?

This Week

Who’s who in the current government (the 8th administration) led by Prime Minister Thongloun Sisoulith?

Thongloun Sisoulith has arguably made more headlines locally and internationally in both official and unofficial media than any other Prime Minister of Laos. But have you heard of the other leaders of government? The other cabinet ministers? The ones who enforce and implement policies set by prime ministerial power? Let’s take a look at their names and pictures:

Thongloun Sisoulith is the Prime Minister (PM), which is the head of the executive branch of government.

Thongloun Sisoulith, Prime Minister

The Prime Minister currently has 3 Deputy Prime Ministers (DPM).

(Left to right) Bounthong Chitmany, Sonexay Siphandone, Somdy Duangdy

They are Bounthong Chitmany, who also occupies the position of Head of the State Inspection Committee, Sonexay Siphandone and Somdy Duangdy who is also Minister of Finance.

Each Deputy Prime Minister oversees the affairs of several ministries and ministry-equivalent bodies. The following are key ministerial level figures who make up the Government of Laos.

(Left to right) Lt. Gen. Chansamone Chanyalath, Major General Somkeo Silavong, Khammanh Sounvileuth, Chaleun Yiapaoher

Lieutenant General Chansamone Chanyalath, Minister of National Defense (military)

Major General Somkeo Silavong, Minister of Public Security (police force)

Khammanh Sounvileuth, Minister of the Interior

Chaleun Yiapaoher, Minister to the Prime Minister’s Office

(Left to right) Sommath Pholsena, Bosengkham Vongdara, Lien Thikeo, Saysi Santhivong

Sommath Pholsena, Minister of Natural Resources and Environment

Bosengkham Vongdara, Minister of Information, Culture and Tourism

Lien Thikeo, Minister of Agriculture and Forestry

Saysi Santhivong, Minister of Justice

(Left to right) Khampheng Saysompheng,
Khammeung Phongthady, Khammany Inthilath, Khemmani Pholsena

Khampheng Saysompheng, Minister of Labor and Social Welfare

Khammeung Phongthady, Minister to the President’s Office

Khammany Inthilath, Minister of Energy and Mines

Khemmani Pholsena, Minister of Industry and Commerce

(Left to right) Boviengkham Vongdara,
Saleumxay Kommasith,
Sengdeuan Lachanthaboun,
Somphao Faisith

Boviengkham Vongdara, Minister of Science and Technology

Saleumxay Kommasith, Minister of Foreign Affairs

Sengdeuan Lachanthaboun, Minister of Education and Sports

Somphao Faisith, Governor of the Bank of Laos (central bank)

(Left to right) Thansamay Kommasith,
Bounchan Sinthavong,
Phet Phomphipak,
Souphanh Keomixay

Thansamay Kommasith, Minister of Post, Telecom and Communications

Bounchan Sinthavong, Minister of Public Works and Transport

Phet Phomphipak, Minister to the Prime Minister’s Office

Souphanh Keomixay, Minister of Planning and Investment

(Left to right) Bounkong Sihavong,
Bounkeut Sangsomsack,
Alounkeo Kittikhoun,
Souvanpheng Bouphanouvong

Bounkong Sihavong, Minister of Public Health

Bounkeut Sangsomsack, Minister to the Prime Minister’s Office

Alounkeo Kittikhoun, Minister to the Prime Minister’s Office

Souvanpheng Bouphanouvong, Minister to the Prime Minister’s Office

The 8th Government Administration
Photo credit: Lao Economic Daily
Source: Lao Government

Latest article