Lao Football Federation Unveils FIFA-supported Training Center in Vientiane to Foster Football Development

The opening ceremony of the Champi-Champa Lao Football Federation training center in Vientiane. (Photo: Lao National Radio)

The Lao Football Federation (LFF) marked a new milestone on 24 February with the opening of a new training center in Vientiane, aimed at nurturing young talent and strengthening the national football team’s competitiveness on the international stage.

The newly opened “Champi-Champa Football Training Center,” located in the Lao National Stadium, is anticipated to serve as a venue for fundamental football development activities, training sessions, and various other sports-related events. The construction was supported by the International Federation of Association Football (FIFA).

“These pitches are not just fields; they are [places] where our players, including our national teams—men, women, youth and seniors—can have access to proper facilities such as training fields, dormitories, a canteen, a gym, and more,” said Kunya Keomany, LFF Vice President and FIFA Council member.

“We are grateful to FIFA for this incredible support and for FIFA’s commitment to developing football [in Laos] at all levels,” Kunya said.

LFF President Viphet Sihachakr expressed gratitude towards FIFA for their consistent support in improving football infrastructure in Laos, citing the benefits the LFF has received from FIFA Forward special projects, particularly the technical center at the LFF headquarters and the newly inaugurated training [Champi-Champa] facility, as reported by the Vientiane Times.

“Through great cooperation, we have worked together to create a new football landscape in Laos, one that gives more boys and girls the chance to take part in the beautiful game,” said FIFA representative Kenny Jean-Marie.

Currently, training centers are operational at the LFF’s sports facilities in Chanthabouly and Xaythany districts in Vientiane, with plans underway to establish three additional centers in the provinces of Champasack, Luang Prabang, and Luang Namtha.