Norway and Laos Agree to Exempt Visa for Diplomats


Holders of diplomatic passports from the Kingdom of Norway and the Lao PDR have now been exempt from applying for entry visas to each others’ countries since the two nations signed an agreement in Singapore on the sidelines of the 51st ASEAN Foreign Ministers’ Meeting. The visa exemption has taken effect since the 1st of September.

The agreement stipulates that diplomatic passport holders from both countries that have not been posted to the territory of the other country are permitted to travel freely between the two countries for a period of no more than 90 days.

Under the agreement, a visa will not be granted to the holders of diplomatic passports, or their family members, working at embassies or consulates or international organizations located in the other country.

The Kingdom of Norway’s diplomatic relations with Laos are handled by the Norwegian Embassy in Hanoi.

Source: KPL